Prof. Edwin P. Hollander (Adelbert 1948) and Ms. Patricia A. Hollander Capstone Research Award

This award honors a graduating senior for an outstanding capstone research project in the psychological sciences (Psychology or Communication Sciences). Dr. Edwin and Patricia Hollander contributed significantly to the field of psychological sciences.

Edwin P. Hollander (Adelbert 1948) is an Emeritus Professor of Psychology and Adjunct Distinguished Professor at Baruch College and the City University of New York Graduate Center. Dr. Hollander earned his Ph.D. in Social Psychology at Columbia University (1952), with an M.S. there in Psychometrics (1950), and a B.S in Psychology (1948) at Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Hollander’s work focuses on group and organizational leadership and innovation. His research projects examine follower expectations and perceptions of leaders, their performance, ethics, and consequences.

Patricia A. Hollander is a consultant in higher education law. She served as both a faculty member and an administrator on the Faculty of Law of the State University of New York at Buffalo. Ms. Hollander earned her B.S. and J.D. degrees from St. Louis University, did graduate study at Harvard Law School, and is admitted to practice in several states. She served as the Public Member of the American Psychological Association’s (APA) Committee on Accreditation and its Commission on the Recognition of Specialties and Proficiencies in Professional Psychology. She also was the Public Member of the APA Board on Social and Ethical Responsibility in Psychology, and was on the Board of Directors of the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers.

This award honors Dr. Hollander and Ms. Hollander’s contributions to the field of psychological sciences and student’s early research contributions to the field.

Criteria to be used to evaluate applications for the Hollander Capstone Research Award and instructions on how to apply can be found in this document.



Previous Award Winners include:
2022 Morgan Hyun
2020 Margarid Turnamian
2019 Jonathan Daniels
2018 Ann Holmes
2017 Nardine Taleb
2016 Hannah Johnson with an honorable mention to Daniel Ryave
2015 Lisa Richey
2014 Salam Taraben
2013 Andrea Fidler
2012 Cari Rosoff